An Amateur Author's Odyssey to Recognition

It’s Been A Busy Month

My father died two weeks ago. I didn’t think to mention it on here, but it’s certainly weighed heavily on my mind. A musician for many years, he was an unsung virtuoso who deserved a better hand than the one dealt to him. It’s still a struggle for me to absorb the fact that he’s gone forever.

I’ve given up on the Clive Barker anthology. I just don’t think I can do the source material justice, so the story will squat in my files for a time. Maybe one day I’ll go back and see if I can salvage something useful from it. For now, I’ll leave it be.

Fiction Writing class has been turning out well. My first story assignment was well received, the prof describing my work as 1) good, 2) damn good, and 3) impressively good. It’s definitely put a spring in my step and reinforced my conviction that I’m onto something. Anyway, I don’t think I could quit now if I tried.

I am a writer. Whether or not I turn out to be a good one is frippery. It’s just something I have to do. My father died without the world knowing just how brilliant he was; he gave his life to his music, and his mind turned against him for his troubles. If nothing else, I am going to work at my craft to honor his memory. The world may not care, but that won’t stop me.

Leave a Reply

