An Amateur Author's Odyssey to Recognition

Pact of the Lantern Expansion

Roughly a year ago, I finished writing what has since become, for lack of a better term, my first success. “Pact of the Lantern” earned a spot in Mystery and Horror LLC’s All Hallow’s Evil anthology rather much to my surprise. Even more to my surprise, quite a few people have told me they liked my story best. One person even made the comment that it should be expanded into a book, minus a few swears.

I was a bit dubious about that idea at first, but the more I thought about it, the more I wondered if there wasn’t some merit to the idea. It must be said that I have wanted to write something longer than my usual paltry fare of short stories, and what better way to achieve that than by expanding one of them.

Now, the story is till under contract for the anthology, so I’d have to wait until after October to publish, by which point it would hardly be called timely. So you’ll likely not see the expanded version any time soon. I do have some ideas for building up the plot, and I really want to see about finding an illustrator.

I will, however, be keeping the swears. I will not compromise on my artistic vision, damn it!

Leave a Reply

