An Amateur Author's Odyssey to Recognition

Musings on Ideas, and Sticking With Them

My favorite stories by Neil Gaiman are the ones that supposedly are based on his childhood. “Violent Cases,” “Mr. Punch,” “The Ocean at the End of the Lane,” to name are few, are brilliantly done. All done with a child’s perspective, they read like memories distorted and intensified by the passage of time. Much of them just cannot be true, and yet the frankness of a child who takes the fantastic at face value lends them such strength.

It makes me think of my theoretical First Novel.

I took a stab at it once, and I ended up not liking it. Impatience is part of the problem, I think. I want to have written, and it makes me overlook that I need to write first, so I get frustrated easily. Doubt in my ideas is another. I’m learning to rely more on my own confidence than those of others, and really I am the only one it should matter to at all.

I have to learn to write short to write long, and not think too far ahead.

The extended project I’m working on with a friend aside, I want to do an actual book. Like it or not, at my stage it’s the best way to get some real notice. I just have to settle on an idea I’m happy with, spend a LOT of time thinking it through, and getting it all together. I don’t possess many virtues, but I’m hoping patience is an easy one to pick up.

In a few weeks I’ll be going to Columbus for an internship, and I’m hoping that’ll help me concentrate more in my downtime.

Leave a Reply

