An Amateur Author's Odyssey to Recognition

All The World Is a Circus

Columbus has been, not to put too fine a point on it, chaotic. Though I’m only into the third week so far at my internship, living in the city and working at a news organization, my days have been incredibly packed.

Classes and tours on public policy on Monday and Tuesday. Internship Wednesday through Friday. Never-ending debate among my fellow interns. I’m used to busy semesters, but at the end of the day I can decompress at home. Here, I’m never not doing this.

I will say this: my little pleasures get all the more pleasurable when I have them to look forward to after the whole rigmarole of it. I’ve got a box of all my favorite books with me, and take my notebooks with me where ever I go. I’ve been working on a chapter for a project of mine, called “The Circus Wars.” It finally feels like I’m getting back into the groove of my abilities.

It occurs to me that I may not be a good example to follow if I can only write when there is work to avoid. But what can you do.

Leave a Reply

