An Amateur Author's Odyssey to Recognition

The First and Final Words of October 2016

The Red Tree, by Caitlin R. Kiernan

First Word: I have visited the old Wight Farm and its “red tree,” there where the house squats ancient and neglected below the bogs that lie at the southern edge of Ramswool Pond.

Final Word: I have visited too, and now the tree has left its seed in my brain and filled me full of leaves.

 

The Grin of the Dark, by Ramsey Campbell

First Word: I’ve hardly lifted my finger from the bellpush when the intercom emits is boxy cough and says ‘Hello?’

Final Word: It would turn out to be the most straightforward thing I accomplished for many days to come.

 

Preacher, Volume 1: Gone to Texas, by Garth Ennis

First Word: In the year of Oh-One…

Final Word: A lot of really messed up stuff happened…

 

Uzumaki, by Junji Ito

First Word: This is Kurouzucho, where I grew up…I would like to share with you the strange events that took place here.

Final Word:  In this way, I hope to shatter your resolve as mine was shattered, wholly and completely.

 

The Fall of the House of Cabal, by Jonathan L. Howard

First Word: It is a damned place, is Perkis Moor.

Final Word: You’re gonna see a lot of similar neighborhoods here.

 

The Woman in Black, by Susan Hill

First Word: It was nine-thirty on Christmas Eve.

Final Word: It was cold on Christmas morning.

 

The Polar Express, by Chris Van Allsburg

First Word: On Christmas Eve, many years ago, I lay quietly in my bed.

Final Word: The promise of magic in the quiet does the work of faith.

Leave a Reply

